Quarter Finals Set at Snapper

Rounds 4 and 5 of the Quick Pro 2011 was completed today.  With electrifying suring conditions and clean two-to-three foot waves at the Snapper Rocks, Gold Coast.    

Defending Quick Pro champion Taj Burrow again showed that he was the man to beat with the highest heat total of the event, a 19.06 out of a possible 20 to elimiate Adriano de Souza in round 5.  This was a blow by blow contest and probably the most electrifying nailbiting heat of the day.  "I just wanted to get back in that heat,"  Burrow said.  "Adriano (de Souza)  raised it by getting that 9 at the start and it made me hungry.  It's awesome when you dig deep and it goes your way at the end,"  Burrow said.  

The highflying South African Jordy Smith surfed a sensational heat coming from behind to eliminate local stand-out Joel Parkinson in round 5.  Jordy needed a big score in the dying moments pulling off a 7.50 out of a possible 10 to secure the win and to show why he was 2010 ASP World Runner Up. "I'm really stoked right now," Smith said.  "Finally something good came.  I had a bummer of a morning and I was kind of down after losing my first heat.  He (Parkinson)  always beats me and I've looked up to him forever.  I don't know what to say, I'm rattled right now."  

Matt Wilkinson posted a career-best this morning beating ten time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater and Michel Bourez to advance directly to the quarter finals. 

Slater, although relegated to the elimination round 5, recovered well to take down an in form Adrian Buchan (AUS), 28, to advance through to the quarter finals.  "I feel a little better,"  Slater said.  "I just felt a little weak and off of my game today.  I didn't sleep great and ate late last night."

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am to assess conditions for a possible 7:30am start.

When competition resumes, up first will be Dusty Payne (HAW), 22, up against Kelly Slater (USA), 39, in the first Quarterfinal.
Highlights from the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast will be available via this website.

The event will also be broadcast LIVE free-to-air on One HD.


Heat 1: Dusty Payne (HAW) 14.07, Adrian Buchan (AUS) 11.83, Tiago Pires (PRT) 11.80
Heat 2: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 13.53, Michel Bourez (PYF) 11.14, Kelly Slater (USA) 11.06
Heat 3: Brett Simpson (USA) 16.60, Adriano de Souza (BRA) 15.63, Jordy Smith (ZAF) 13.87
Heat 4: Alejo Muniz (BRA) 15.23, Joel Parkinson (AUS) 12.76, Taj Burrow (AUS) 11.56

Heat 1: Kelly Slater (USA) 15.80 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 15.60
Heat 2: Tiago Pires (PRT) 13.27 def. Michel Bouez (PYF) 12.94
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) 19.06 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 18.94
Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 16.67 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 16.17

QF 1: Dusty Payne (HAW) vs. Kelly Slater (USA)
QF 2: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
QF 3: Brett Simpson (USA) vs. Taj Burrow (AUS)
QF 4: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Jordy Smith (ZAF)